Get A Grip People! Brittany Maynard is DYING from CANCER NOT SUICIDE

I count myself among a super large family!  I am one of many who have ever existed, exist, or will exist who claim Christ as my Savior. We are of the Family of God. I am a daughter of the King. Jesus calls me His friend. While salvation is made very simple….living the Christian life is most certainly not. If anything it is complex and difficult. We most certainly cannot do it alone. We must learn to trust God every single minute of every single day. The one thing I have learned since my son died by possible suicide is that God does not give easy answers to our questioning minds and hearts. Sure, there are answers in the Bible that are most certainly black and white but there are verses that sometimes leave us scratching our heads, wondering how it could possibly apply to us. Would we really want a God so easy to figure out? At the same time, what would God’s purpose be in not being figured out at all? Hence, the Bible.

Like, why is my world in two parts now. Like B.C. and A.D ( all you Common Era people can get over it!) ….the timeline in my life is split: Before Brandon died and After Brandon died. From every single thing I have read by other parents who have lost a child, this is how it is. I can’t help but see a date written, or hear a song, or watch a movie, or notice family photos…all of them are reminders of when he was and when he wasn’t. This is not a conscious effort. It just is.

Before ever losing my son to his physical death, I always thought that growing up was a form of death. My little blonde haired babies will never be again. They have grown up incrementally, leaving behind a path of memories and photos of a time that can never be again.Andrea 10 yrs, Vanessa 6 yrs., Brandon 3 yrs. Death. Yes, death comes in all forms. It is the end to something. Childhood ends. Life as we know it today will end sometime tomorrow. We all tend to hold tightly to the timeline that never stands still. Reality has a way of letting us know that we are all on a fast track to an end. We ALL must die. For some it comes quickly…for some it is an unbearable lengthy process. One thing I know for certain is that GOD knows when our appointed time is. Read the word: “appointed”…means “assigned.” Below is taken from this site which tries to explain death: http://www.libertygospeltracts.com/question/prequest/death.htm

We will never understand all of the “why’s” of many deaths.  Why they happen like they do.  Why they happen when they do.  We must look by faith to our Savior, that He knows the “why’s,” and we must trust Him.  “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” (Holy Bible, Proverbs 3:5,6)

God is not always sad when a person dies.  “Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints.” (Holy Bible, Psalm 116:15)  God loves to have one of His children come home to be with Him.

Sometimes, the Lord may be taking a righteous person home to spare that one from future hardships. “The righteous perisheth, and no man layeth it to heart: and merciful men are taken away, none considering that the righteous is taken away from the evil to come.” (Holy Bible, Isaiah 57:1)  God may take someone home before he/she would have to suffer terrible pain, or a paralyzing stroke, or a number of things that he/she had no idea was coming his/her way.  The bottom line, is that a person must be prepared for death at any moment.

No one can kill the Christian before it is his time to go.  In Job 2:6, God said to Satan concerning Job, “Behold, he is in thine hand; but save his life.”

Brittany Maynard is dying. Cancer kills. She will suffer. In her interviews, she has made it clear that she DOES NOT WANT to die. She is a young, newlywed who wants all of her tomorrows to be about being happily married with children and the picket fence….. She wants a miracle. Some religious people think that she MUST suffer if she wants to get “in good with God” :that it is required if you are a Christian. Granted, I do not know if she is a Christian. That, my friends, is the real concern for me…not that she plans to end her suffering on a certain date. God will determine that. Even if it appears to be by her own hands…it will ultimately be God’s determination. I do believe it grieves God for a some people to die.  He wants us all to be with Him and “that none should perish.” Perish in this sense means death of the soul. If you do not believe in Christ as your Savior…then you will experience death of your soul…eternal damnation. A helpful site is here:

http://www.openbible.info/topics/going_to_hell

I will make no judgment of Brittany Maynard’s wish to end her suffering in those last days of unbearableness. It is not my call. I am not so sure that I would not be among those who would rather die this way. Suffering illnesses change us. She is not dying from assisted suicide but of cancer. The choice she is making is all about suffering. Medical advances have come so far that lying in a vegetative state of being is an unmerciful existence.  Was it ever really in God’s plan that we prolong life and keep us from Him? Does the person who refuses treatment fall into the same category as those who choose to drink the final sleep concoction? There are very many theological unanswerable questions being raised in this modern day and age. Do not quote to me, “Thou shalt not kill.”  Cancer kills. Mental illness kills. ETC… I never had to think on these terms until my son died by suicide.

IMHO:

I know without doubt that it is not the way I die that will exclude me from or invite me into Heaven. There is only one way and that portal is through Christ Himself. Even if I am wrong about this kind of death (suicide), I am not condemned for being wrong. It is unbelief that condemns.

11 thoughts on “Get A Grip People! Brittany Maynard is DYING from CANCER NOT SUICIDE

    • Thank you, Cheryl. My condolences on the death of your brother. Alzheimers can be one of those long deaths so much so that the end is usually a welcomed relief. God bless your brother and your whole family.

  1. I read the story about this beautiful’s young woman’s possible decision. Like you, I do not stand in judgment as I do not walk in her shoes or know her pain. Your faith is beautiful, Dale.

  2. Interesting points brought up, Dale. I had an elderly friend, who had been diagnosed with Stage 4 cancer. She was pretty much symptom free, she told me. Then she asked me my views about, essentially, assisted suicide. I told her why I was against it-she was adamantly pro assisted suicide. Not long after, on a date that was a special date significant to a departed loved one, she died of “natural causes”…In my heart, i do not believe this was an unassisted death. I am still torn though, by the fact that society says it is acceptable to “put down” suffering animals-but not so humans.

    My core belief, is that sometimes our suffering is incredibly helpful for others. And we are a kind of “sacrifice” if you will. Only God knows the particulars, of how our suffering can help others. Perhaps this is the main reason to not allow for assisted suicide. Heroic suffering produces fruits in others, even if just a seed-it can germinate into something much larger.

    Love what Brandon wrote, above the article! Loving Bear Hugs to you and Brandon, Donna

    • Donna, it is my belief that we are not required to make a sacrifice out of our suffering because Christ took on all of our sin on the cross by His own sufferings. Heroics is not a prerequisite of the dying process. I guess all of our theological questions will be answered on that Day. Meanwhile, as we struggle with life in our day to day sufferings….we lean on a God whose grace and mercy covers us. Suffering is like torture to some. I cannot imagine the “fruit” that it might produce. Perhaps, those who question it would be more inclined to turn away from God than toward Him. Just a guess. I am thankful that my own understanding is something I am instructed “not to lean on”. It’s all about trusting God.

      Thank you for reading Brandon’s prayer/psalm. I am so glad I found it pressed between the pages of his Bible after he passed away. God is good. Much love to you, dear friend.

  3. I agree with you, that Christ’s sacrificial death was “all sufficient”.

    What gives me pause though, about the problem of prolonged suffering vs quick death, is the experience I’m having with a friend.

    She’s dying from a terminal, inoperable lung condition. A very slow process, and she longs to be released from her suffering. She’s been in Hospice…and then released-due to “not fast enough worsening” of her condition.

    Over the two years she has suffered so miserably from get condition, I have grown a lot.

    She has been able to make the change from being extremely active, to never leaving her apartment now. I’m sure I’m not the only one positively affected by her willingness to adapt, although still longing to be released from her pain and suffering. She has inspired us all by her sheer tenacity to be fiercely independent and not give in to sheer despair over her slowly worsening condition. She’s also on meds that almost always cause a tolerance factor increase-yet she remains steadfast-with her original dosage. Her courage and continuance to do what she can and her growth in spiritual maturity, is very evident to all that are close to her. She has taught me much.

    None of which is “required” by God, but is the gift we receive through my friend’s persistence in “hanging on”.

    She even continues to care for the hummingbirds that come to her apartment’s railing-only daily made, fresh sugar water is good enough for her fortunate bird friends. We are all blessed by her presence and her attitudes.

    Love, Donna

  4. I pray for your friend a miracle…or quick release from her suffering. I’m glad you have used her suffering to an advantage that I can hardly understand. I have sat by and watched others suffer a long death by cancer and I never prayed for recovery here but rather for their true recovery in heaven. I don’t think it would ever cross my mind to pray for someone to suffer more (not that you meant that) I just know that this is not our home and the journey of this life is unbearable for some. I will stand by my belief that we never leave this earth on our own accord but rather in God’s time already assigned to us at birth. However that time used at the end…if it is an insufferable kind of death that God will give strength to endure or to be released. There must be advantages for either to those left behind. XO

Leave a Reply

