“I loved the boy”….”No guilt in life, no fear in death, this is the power of Christ in me”…

A WordPress friend inspired me to share some of my favorite quotes/ poems today that have far more meaning now that my son is in Heaven ~ for you Brandon, as always….love, Mom

“I loved the boy with the utmost love of which my soul is capable, and he is taken from me…yet in the agony of my spirit in surrendering such a treasure, I feel a thousand times richer than if I had never possessed it.” Wordsworth, 1812

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

And what is it to cease breathing, but to free the breath from its restless tides, that it may rise and expand and seek God unencumbered ?

The veil that clouds your eyes shall be lifted by the hand that wove it.

And the clay that fills your ears shall be pierced by those fingers that kneaded it.

And you shall see, And you shall hear, For in that day you shall know the hidden purposes in all things.

~Dry your tears, raise your heads as flowers hold up their stems at the coming of the dawn.

Hold your breath, and listen with me for a moment to the rustle of white wings.

Bury me among lilies and jasmine.

Do not weep for me but sing a song of youth and joy.

Do not disturb the peace of the ether with funeral orations but let your heart sing praises with me for the afterlife and for eternity.

Do not wear black at my funeral, but white, as at a betrothal.

Do not speak of my departure with tears in your voices rather, close your eyes and you will see me among you today and tomorrow.

With soft steps take me to a verdant cradle in the distant countryside.

Cover me with handfuls of earth and with iris, jasmine and wild rose seeds.

They will germinate on my grave and breathe in the elements of my body.

And so they will grow, wafting through the air my heart’s perfume, and showing to the sun the secrets of my hands; and they will bend with the breeze, recalling to the passer-by my dreams and inclinations of bygone days…

Here I am at the top of a mountain, my Spirit drifting through the space of freedom … I am far away.

I hear only the hymns of eternity accompanying my spirits journey.

~ We shall see each other again and we shall drink the morning dew from the cups of narcissus flowers ~

~Kahlil Gibran ~

_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Death is Nothing at All  (read at Brandon’s memorial)

Death is nothing at all.

I have only slipped away to the next room.
I am I and you are you.
Whatever we were to each other,
That, we still are.

Call me by my old familiar name.
Speak to me in the easy way
which you always used.
Put no difference into your tone.
Wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow.

Laugh as we always laughed
at the little jokes we enjoyed together.
Play, smile, think of me. Pray for me.
Let my name be ever the household word
that it always was.
Let it be spoken without effect.
Without the trace of a shadow on it.

Life means all that it ever meant.
It is the same that it ever was.
There is absolute unbroken continuity.
Why should I be out of mind
because I am out of sight?

I am but waiting for you.
For an interval.
Somewhere. Very near.
Just around the corner.

All is well.

Nothing is past; nothing is lost. One brief moment and all will be as it was before only better, infinitely happier and forever we will all be one together with Christ.

Henry Scott Holland
_________________________________________________________________________________________

It Is Well With My Soul

(original lyrics)

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to know,a
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Refrain:
It is well, (it is well),
With my soul, (with my soul)
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin — oh, the bliss of this glorious thought! —
My sin — not in part but the whole, —
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life,
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

But Lord, ’tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh, trump of the angel! Oh, voice of the Lord!
Blessed hope, blessed rest of my soul.

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,      ( my favorite line of this song)
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
A song in the night, oh my soul! b

________________________________________________________________________________________________
In Christ Alone    (My testament in song)

In Christ alone my hope is found,
He is my light, my strength, my song;
This Cornerstone, this solid Ground,
Firm through the fiercest drought and storm.
What heights of love, what depths of peace,
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease!
My Comforter, my All in All,
Here in the love of Christ I stand.

In Christ alone! – who took on flesh,
Fullness of God in helpless babe.
This gift of love and righteousness,
Scorned by the ones He came to save:
Till on that cross as Jesus died,
The wrath of God was satisfied –
For every sin on Him was laid;
Here in the death of Christ I live.

There in the ground His body lay,
Light of the world by darkness slain:
Then bursting forth in glorious day
Up from the grave He rose again!
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me,
For I am His and He is mine –
Bought with the precious blood of Christ.

No guilt in life, no fear in death,
This is the power of Christ in me;
From life’s first cry to final breath,
Jesus commands my destiny.
No power of hell, no scheme of man,
Can ever pluck me from His hand:
Till He returns or calls me home,
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand.

Stuart Townsend & Keith Getty

5 thoughts on ““I loved the boy”….”No guilt in life, no fear in death, this is the power of Christ in me”…

  1. Love this, Dale-and agree wholeheartedly with what is expressed.

    A thought just came to mind…
    When Jesus went to heal the “dead” little girl, he told everyone she was not
    dead(-dead) but was “asleep”.
    It seems to me, those of us left behind are the ones “asleep” and dead…compared to the glorious richness and vitality of “Life” our transitioned ones now enjoy!

    Love to you and Brandon,
    Donna

Leave a Reply

