“White Shores…into a far green country….you and I will meet again.”

I cannot tell you how comforting these words were to me the very first time I saw this movie. I became infatuated with the trilogy of “The Lord of the Ring.”  I watched it over and over again as the scenes and the narrative spoke to me. Normally, I would not watch a movie like this but after unintentionally coming across it late one night on tv, I became hooked. I have never been much into science fiction or anything like it. I sat in front of the t.v. for hours on end to try to keep my mind occupied by anything other than our tragedy. I was immediately drawn in by the story of good vs. evil and all the significance of its meaning to my destroyed heart. I knew that it was a heavenly message to me. I think it speaks to others, as well. When the movie was over…the end credits rolled and the song, “Into the West” brought me to tears but in a good way. I envisioned Heaven and my son being on those white shores.

 

 

4 thoughts on ““White Shores…into a far green country….you and I will meet again.”

  1. Hey Dale. I’ve read Lord of the Rings at least four times. Every few years, I re-read. There’s so much in it; fantasy, yes, but so much more. And when I saw the movie, I was shocked at how much I loved it. You know how you read a book, then when the movie comes out you get all pissed because the way the director saw it isn’t the way you did? Sure, a lot was cut out – but they kept the spirit of it.

    We find comfort in the strangest places, no? Would that it would last. Sometimes I think I’m slowly suffocating, you know? Like I can’t cry, I can’t make a sound, but what this is is so huge…oh, Dale; I miss Philip – and who better to say it to? If I could give you a hug, I would. xoxoxo

    • Yes, Denise, I know the disappointment in watching movies made from books only to realize the creative license that keeps the movie from being true to its original intent. Since I did not read this book but was familiar with the author’s Christianity, I was thrilled to know the underlying message. It is the very same way with C.S. Lewis’ “Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe”….coincidentally, it was Tolkein who led Lewis to Christ. (a bit of trivia ;))

      Grief can suffocate us but hope keeps us looking “into the West.”…..as the song says. I believe with all my heart that this is most definitely not the end. I believe we will see our sons again and hug them as we meet God face to face. I know the longing is unbearable at times. I think I am coming through this fog to see more clearly now, but some days just slam me back and knock me about. I am so grateful for your hugs and empathy and am so sad that you and other moms feel this great grief that seems to have no real purpose. There is only One who knows the bigger picture and I trust Him with all of my heart. Peace, love, and more hugs than you can count!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. My late husband Tim is a gentle soul…and he loved this kind of literary genre. He loved this particular series, also.

    For some reason, I can’t sustain prolonged interest in such, but am glad that others gain enjoyment from Tolkein’s masterful literary art! Keep enjoying! 🙂
    Love, Donna

Leave a Reply

