No Matter What

This song has kept me afloat in the aftermath of losing my son to suicide/depression. It is a true expression of how we should depend on God, No Matter What. I have found that, even as I ask “why” and don’t have all the answers, God has led me to many answers and a peace that only He can give. I miss my son so very much. I could write and write endlessly of my pain and sorrow of missing Brandon but I also need to focus that this is not my home and that my son is already home. He will be the one to greet me in Heaven when all is done here on earth. He is already experiencing all that was promised. I am happy for him but I am also very sad that he is gone.

Here is a picture that Brandon drew for me when he was about 13….it says so much.
076 (2)

8 thoughts on “No Matter What

  1. Thank you, Dale. That’s beautiful. I wish I could feel…what? More trust, more faith? I don’t know. Philip’s gone too long, too too long.

    Love Brandon’s picture; you think you’re falling, but he’s got you.

    • Denise, you are right in the very raw part of your loss. Even though, I am a little further down the road in this grief, still my faith and trust in God gets challenged on some days most certainly in the shock at the beginning. Jesus said that “if you have faith the grain of a mustard seed you can move mountains”…so how much faith is enough if it only takes a little to do what needs to be done. I do believe that faith gives us hope and it increases the more we trust God. We simply cannot do it ourselves. It is all we have in this life…and life is forever…like our sons are forever. Thank you for liking Brandon’s picture.

  2. Dale, Brandon’s drawing of Jesus finding and rescuing the lost sheep is both poignant and hopeful. I think sometimes in our earnest quest to understand, we forget that there are many things we are just not meant to understand. That is not meant to be at all harsh, but meant as a reminder of Isaiah 55:8-11 – “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Sometimes we may never know because we cannot see far enough down the road. Sometimes, we are just meant to trust, difficult as that may be.

    My prayers are with you, as always.

    • You are so right, Susan. I often think of that scripture, in fact, I was just talking about it with my husband the other day. What a great thing to know that we serve a God who does not think like us or act like us. Our God is an awesome God! Thank you for remembering me in prayer. xo

  3. Dale, Thank you for sharing the video and lyrics. The most comforting words to me are “Before a heart ache can ever touch my life, it has to go through your hands.” What a powerful statement! It assures me that He is all-knowing and will meet our every need – “NO MATTER WHAT”…

    Brandon’s drawing is such a wonderful reminder to me of God’s love for each and everyone of His sheep. Each one is precious to Him – especially you Dale, and your friendship is precious to ME!

    • And you are precious to me, too, dear Terri. We never really think about how God is in complete control as such was with Job and everything that was allowed to happen. God still had control over that situation. It is very much like what the verse says that you quoted….nothing really happens to us that He has not already known about and allowed…for whatever reasons. We have only to trust Him and know He loves our children and us even more than we can imagine. Love and hugs……

Leave a Reply

