Birth by Dale Jordan Heath (poem for my son)

In the past, I have authored two books of poetry. This poem is from my first book, “Diamonds in Dishwater.”  My son and I collaborated on the second one, “Human Conditions, a collection of poetry.”  He created the cover art and the illustrations accompanying some of the poems.

BIRTH

Your naked blue body

like a wet rubber doll

still and soundless

a moment too long.

I strained to hear

as you were rushed

to the warm light

in baffling seconds

of doctor talk.

I saw your spirit rise above

the glint of sterile steel

and felt the milk of life

rush from my breasts

eager for your tiny mouth.

I held my breath

while God held yours.

And my heart was revived

by the sound of your long

awaited cry,

When in the cradle of my arms

                                                                                             we met.

One thought on “Birth by Dale Jordan Heath (poem for my son)

Leave a Reply

